Who Can’t Handle the Truth? – Really, Mothers’ Day is “Gendered?”

I just read a complaint that Mothers’ Day should be changed to Guardians’ Day, because Mothers’ Day is “gendered.”  https://heatst.com/culture-wars/critics-attack-mothers-day-as-offensive-because-its-a-gendered-holiday/

God help me, I must be getting crusty; isn’t part of growing up learning to deal with things that threaten us, things we do not like?  Aren’t building courage, and mentally “toughening up” precursors to leadership, freedom, and independence?

Is basketball a “heightened” sport?  Is adulthood and “aged” convention?  Ridiculous is too tamed a term for this plague of ninnies who whine and writhe in psychic pain at every perceived offense or slur.  How about absurd, preposterous, ludicrous, silly, inane, imbecilic, and, cockamamie?

And since when is “everybody else” supposed to “fix” my problems, punish my offender, shield me from danger and the glaring rays of regular life?

Am I taking too seriously “news” like this?  Maybe I should just laugh and reminisce about the times, win and lose, I fought back against bigger boys who physically bullied me when I was a little kid; it would save stomach acid.

Are the laws of “Social Correctness” extending their boundaries a wee bit too far?  Are the Offense Police ever going to run out of poor, petulant, abulic, moribund, scissile, thin-skinned, panophobic, brittle, self-obsessed neurotics?  Here is a form for their complaints, courtesy of a contributor to “The Free Dictionary:”  (Scroll down until you see the form.)

http://forum.thefreedictionary.com/postst75471_A-word-for-someone-easily-offended.aspx

 

Leave a Reply

