A Long Close Look In an Honest Mirror – Self-Deception, Fear, Blame, Righteousness, and What Is So

I could examine how I think, believe, choose, and behave every day; but I do not.  I have many opportunities, occasions and reminders that I control my life choices, responsibilities, and results; New Year’s Day is one of those annual openings to reflect; this is a great time to examine the mirrors I use to see the world, others, and myself.

Have I been using my “Snow White Wicked Queen’s Mirror?” – I can hear the echoes of my version of “Who Is the Fairest of Them All?”

What do I see in my “Fun House Mirror?” – I find exaggerations, along the lines of “Does This Make Me Look Fat?”

Do I find myself driving with trepidation, eyes glued to my “Rear View Mirror?” – Do I doubt myself with a self-recriminating, “And, How Has That Worked Out For You?”

How often do I view, blame, and judge others through my “Two-Way Mirror?” – I find safety and superiority in many versions of, “Guilty, Undeserving Suspects in the Line-up?”

Could it be the right time to dust off my “Honest Mirror?” – Am I ready to ask myself:

  •  Do I feel driven to be attractive enough, good enough, careful enough, superior enough?
  • Do I??
  • Do I need these things to take and find joy in my life?
  • Am I in a beauty contest?
  • What is the prize?
  • Am I in a life or death talent show?
  • Can I ever win?
  • Am I what I fear from my past?
  • Who am I?
  • Are There Really Monsters Under My Bed?
  • Am I afraid to wake up, get up, and turn on the lights?

In my Honest Mirror I expect to find some answers, some chagrin, and once again another year of smiles.

One Reply to “A Long Close Look In an Honest Mirror – Self-Deception, Fear, Blame, Righteousness, and What Is So”

Leave a Reply

